Polls held in municipalities amid violence

Staff Correspondent
16 January 2021, Sat
Published: 05:27

Polls held in municipalities amid violence

The second phase of voting in 60 municipalities ended on Saturday amid reports of violence, irregularities and election boycotts.

The voters queued up in front of their respective various polling stations to cast their franchises since early morning. The voting started at 8 am and continued till 4 pm.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were used in 29 municipalities while traditional ballot papers were used elsewhere.

Elections were supposed to be held in 61 municipalities in the second phase, but polls in Saidpur municipality under Nilphamari district were put on hold following the death of a mayoral candidate.

In Rajshahi, BNP nominated mayoral candidate of Bhabaniganj municipality Abdur Razzak Pramanik boycotted the election. 

In Mongla port municipality, BNP nominated mayoral candidate Zulfiqar Ali and 12 other ward councillor aspirants also boycotted the election, bringing the allegations of vote-rigging and occupying of the centre by the ruling party men. He declared the decision at a press conference at his residence around 10:30 am.

In Comilla, clashes erupted between supporters of two ward councillor candidates of Chandina municipality. Four people were reported injured in the clash.

The clash reportedly took place near Harang Government Primary School polling station around 9:30 am on Saturday.

According to locals, the clash took place between the supporters of Billal Hossain and Nazmul Hasan.

In Natore, supporters of Awami League candidate have been accused of ballot stuffing at one of the polling centres in Gopalpur municipality.

Independent mayoral candidate Manjurul Islam Bimal's chief agent Anwarul Islam made the allegation around 1:15 am.

In Tangail, both Awami League rebel and BNP nominated candidates in the mayoral post alleged that the supporters of the ruling party-backed aspirant expelled voters from a polling centre, barring them from casting their votes during municipality election to Dhanbari after only keeping their fingerprints.